Found it! my scholarship to the Wikimedia Hackathon in Amsterdam

I was really hoping to attend this year’s annual Wikimedia Hackathon, especially with all the growing interest in Wikidata and Openstreetmap, the two projects that has currently caught my fancy.

I have attended every WMF hackathon since the first one at Mumbai in 2011, and it has never disappointed. The quality of people, interactions and knowledge gained at these events have always been top notch and a lot of fun.

One of the wonderful things about the Wikipedia world is the support given to the volunteers from the different chapters and the parent Wikimedia Foundation to promote community growth and building awesome stuff that the whole world can use. I happened to chance upon the announcements for the travel and accommodation scholarships to attend the Amsterdam Hackathon on the wikitech-l mailing list and gave it a shot considering my contributions to open map data, Wikimedia commons, interaction design for Wikimedia projects and participation in previous WMF events.

I looked up my inbox yesterday to see if I had missed any update on the scholarship, and sure enough my scholarship acceptance mail was unread from 2nd April. Thank you Wikimedia Nederlands! It’s such surprises that makes one love contributing to open source.

Tags: , , ,

About planemad

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Planemad

11 responses to “Found it! my scholarship to the Wikimedia Hackathon in Amsterdam”

  1. Rangilo Gujarati says :

    Fantastic !!! I didn’t even apply, final exams almost the same time … 😦
    But am going Hong Kong, tickets booked 😉 Should I be seeing you there?

  2. planemad says :

    Ah no, did not make it to the Wikimania list. Hong Kong can get very expensive, otherwise I would have made the journey on my own.

  3. youtube views free says :

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and
    you’re just extremely great. I actually like what you have acquired here, really
    like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually
    a great site. youtube views free with regard to youtube marketing
    If you wish to increase youtube views towards your youtube profile, there are various
    more efficient methods.

  4. instagram says :

    Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I
    will just bookmark this blog. cheap and effective instagram
    instagram offers level of quality sociable providers.

    instagram it will be a really smart financial commitment for the company.

  5. instagram says :

    That is a really good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Short but very accurate info… Appreciate your sharing this one.

    A must read article! instagram Low-priced and Protected regarding instagram bank
    account.
    If you would like instagram to your instagram profile, there are lots of quite effective means.

    instagram supplies good quality societal solutions.

  6. twitter says :

    Hello, I enjoy reading through your post. I wanted to write a little comment to
    support you. twitter in addition to enhance your public existence.

    twitter, choose the package deal this best fits your requirements.

    Customers could twitter by means of many reasonably priced
    providers.

  7. twitter says :

    Hi, after reading this awesome piece of writing i am too happy to
    share my know-how here with colleagues. twitter
    twitter

  8. facebook says :

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she retains the idea of a user in his/her mind that how a
    user can know it. Therefore that’s why this piece of writing is outstdanding.
    Thanks! facebook
    facebook

  9. youtube says :

    I blog frequently and I seriously thank you
    for your content. This article has really peaked
    my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new
    details about once per week. I subscribed to your
    Feed as well. youtube
    youtube

  10. instagram says :

    Nice replies in return of this query with genuine arguments and explaining
    all about that. instagram
    instagram
    instagram

  11. youtube says :

    Hello, yup this paragraph is truly nice and I have learned lot of things from it
    on the topic of blogging. thanks. youtube
    youtube

Leave a comment